Karl Anker Jørgensen

Karl Anker Jørgensen was born in 1955 in Aarhus, Denmark, and obtained his Ph.D. from Aarhus University in 1984. In 1985, he joined Nobel Laureate Professor Roald Hoffmann's group at Cornell University, USA in a fruitful postdoctoral position. During this time, Karl Anker Jørgensen and Roald Hoffmann published a series of articles which founded the understanding of fundamental oxidation reactions catalyzed by metal complexes and surfaces, based on theoretical calculations. In 1989 Karl Anker Jørgensen became Dr. Scient.

Karl Anker Jørgensen joined the Department of Chemistry, Aarhus University in 1985 as an assistant professor and was appointed Full Professor in 1992.

In the early 1990s, Karl Anker Jørgensen turned his research activities to asymmetric catalysis focusing on chiral Lewis acid catalysis. A grant from the Danish National Research Foundation in 1997 made it possible to establish the centre of excellence "Center for Catalysis" with an international research environment. During the 1990s the center developed a number of new metal catalyzed reactions, which have received considerable international interest.

In 2001, Karl Anker Jørgensen's research interests changed to organocatalysis and since then he has made a strong international fingerprint to this highly competitive research field.

Karl Anker Jørgensen has received numerous awards and honorary appointments, and is member of The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences, Academy of Technical Sciences, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Curriculum vitae

Karl Anker Jørgensen


  • 1955       Born, Aarhus, Denmark, June 15.
  • 1975       Student at Aarhus University (chemistry and physics).
  • 1979/80  Sabbatical due to sports activities.
  • 1984       Ph. D. in a combination of organic and theoretical chemistry.
  • 1985       Visiting Scientist with Professor Roald Hoffmann, Cornell University, USA.
  • 1985       Assistant Professor at Aarhus University.
  • 1989       Associate Professor at Aarhus University. Doctor of Science.
  • 1992       Research Professor – Minister appointed.
  • 1993       Professor at Aarhus University.
  • 1994       Member of The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.
  • 1995       Awarded the Bjerrum Medal.
  • 1997       Received a grant of 25 mill. D.Kr. from The Danish National Research Foundation.
  • 1999       Member of Danish Academy of Technical Sciences.
  • 2000       Awarded The Villum Kann Rasmussen Award.
  • ­   ­       ­    Awarded The Lundbeck Foundation Nordic Research Prize.
  • 2002       Received a grant of 30 mill. D.Kr. from The Danish National Research Foundation.
  • 2003       Awarded The Blomquist Award, Cornell University, USA.
  • 2004       Awarded Commander of the Order of Rubén Darío.­­
  • ­              Awarded Knight’s Cross of the Order of the Dannebrog.
  • ­­   ­­ ­­­          Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.
  • 2005       Awarded the Carlsberg Prize.
  • 2012       Awarded The Ib Henriksen Prize
  • ­   ­ ­ ­­        ­Ca. 330 in international refereed journals and has an h-factor from papers
  • ­    ­  ­    ­   published in the period 2000-2011 >60.