Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Troels Skrydstrup

Professor Troels Skrydstrup

Prof. Dr. Troels Skrydstrup

Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center and
Department of Chemistry
Aarhus University
Langelandsgade 140
8000 Aarhus C

Tel: +45 8715 5968
Fax: +45 86196199
Email: ts@chem.au.dk


Skrydstrup Group

Curriculum Vitae

Troels Skrydstrup was born in Frederiksberg (Denmark) in 1961. He grew up in Canada in Montréal , Quebec and Iroquois, Ontario, Canada. He received a BSc(Eng.) degree from Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada (1983) and his MSc and PhD degrees from the Technical University of Denmark (1985 and 1988) under the supervision of Prof. Anders Kjær. After several post-doctoral periods at the Institute de Chimie des Substances Naturelles, Gif-sur-Yvette (1988–1989 with Prof. G. Ourisson, 1990–1992 with Dr. D. Grierson) and at the Carlsberg Laboratories (1989–1990 with Prof. K. Bock), Troels Skrydstrup was employed as Chargé de Recherche (CR1) both at the Université d’Orléans and Université Paris XI (1992–1997).

In 1997, he became Associate Professor at the Department of Chemistry, Aarhus University, and was promoted full Professor of Organic Chemistry in 2002. Troels Skrydstrup was Head of Department in the period 2001–2004 and 2010.

In 2001, he obtained the Danish Doctor of Science degree. Troels Skrydstrup was elected as a fellow of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences in 2008, and member of the Danish Academy of Natural Sciences in 2010. He has also served in the committee of the Danish Council for Independent Research in the field of Natural Sciences from 2009–2010.  Troels Skrydstrup has over 205 publications, two patents and two pending patent applications, an H-index of 31. 

Troels Skrydstrup was in 2014 awarded with a Center of Excellence "Carbon Dioxide Activation Centre (CADIAC)" by the Danish National Research Foundation. 

Research Interests

  • Development of new synthetic methods
  • Transition metal catalyzed reactions
  • Synthesis with single electron reducing agents
  • Synthesis of peptide analogues

Awards & Honours

  • 1988 and 1990: Maxwell scholarship 
  • 2001: Guest Professor Université de Versailles
  • 2002: Holms Research Prize
  • 2007: Guest Professor Osaka Prefecture University
  • 2008: Guest Professor Université de Paris VI
  • 2008: Elected to the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences
  • 2012: Knighted by the Danish Queen
  • 2014: Awarded the Center of Excellence "Carbon Dioxide Activation Centre (CADIAC)"