Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Karl Anker Jørgensen receives the H.C. Ørsted Gold Medal

In collaboration with the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences, the Society for the Dissemination of Natural Science (SNU) has decided to award a Gold Medal in chemistry and a travel grant in connection with the bicentennial anniversary of H. C. Ørsted's discovery of electromagnetism (1820).

2019.09.25 | Marianne Sommer

The Gold Medal in chemistry is awarded to Professor Karl Anker Jørgensen from Department of Chemistry, Aarhus University, for his outstanding international research within the field of catalytic chemistry and his excellent ability to disseminate his scientific findings to a wider audience - in full compliance with H.C. Ørsted's own visions of dissemination, which led to the foundation of the Society for the Dissemination of Natural Science (SNU) in 1824.

Karl Anker Jørgensen's field of research is asymmetric catalysis, and he has created chemistry that has found wide applications in both academia and in a number of industries, e.g. the pharmaceutical industry. Karl Anker Jørgensen’s research has had a huge international impact, and he is considered one of the world's most influential researchers. Karl Anker Jørgensen and his research group today hold a truly exceptional position at Aarhus University.

The Gold Medal and Prize will be presented by Her Majesty the Queen at the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters on 16th October 2019. The H.C. Ørsted Medal in Gold is awarded for outstanding scientific work in the fields of physics and chemistry.

The awarding of the H. C. Ørsted Gold Medal is a very rare occurrence. It was last awarded in 1989 to Professor Thor A. Bak, and the first award was given in 1909 to Professor S.P.L. Sørensen. In total, it has only been awarded 17 times in 110 years, for example in 1924 to Professor Niels Bohr and in 1977 to Professor K.A. Jensen.

The Gold Medal and the travel grant are supported by the company of Ørsted A/S.

Read the press release and the AU news on the award

Department of Chemistry, Public / media, Staff